Prabha Varma is a renowned poet, journalist, editor and lyricist. He is a recipient of more than 30 literary awards including Kendra Sahitya Akademi Award, Kerala Sahitya Akademi Award, Vayalar Award, P Kunhiraman Nair Award, Asan Poetry Prize, Malayattoor Award and Vallathol Award. His major books include Shyama Madhavam, Souparnika, Arkkapoornima, Chandana Nazhi and Aardram. He has also bagged the Kerala State Film Award for lyrics, Film Critics Award for best lyrics and Sangeetha Nataka Academy Award for the best lyrics of drama.

In journalistic career, he received Kerala State Journalism Award for general reporting, K Madhavankutty Award for the best English feature, Media Trust Award for Journalism, Indiwood Media Award and K C Sebastian Award among others.

He had been a parliamentary reporter for about 12 years. He served as the press secretary of chief minister, News Director of Kairali-People TV channel, Resident Editor of Deshabhimani daily, Kerala Sahitya Akademi vice president and a member of Kendra Sahitya Akademi. At present, he is the media advisor of Kerala chief minister.