MBIFL 2020 MBIFL 2020


About the Festival Directors

Sabin Iqbal

Sabin Iqbal is a journalist with nearly 20 years of experience in national and international newspapers and magazines. As Editorial Director, he was a member of the core team of the first edition of Kochi-Muziris Biennale. As Senior Editor of Tehelka in Delhi, he was in charge of the weekly editions of the magazine, and wrote a number of features on politics, culture and literature. Before joining Tehelka, Sabin was with Business India as Senior Asst. Editor.

During his stint with newspapers and magazines in the UAE, he has travelled to many countries on assignment to cover major sports events and interacted with global personalities. Passionate about literature and cricket, Sabin believes in the dynamics of urbanisation and the role of art and culture in sustainable development. Sabin is a published poet and an aspiring novelist.

Manoj K Das

He is the Editor of Mathrubhumi. Previously, was the Resident Editor of Times of India. Had also worked with The New Indian Express as Kochi Bureau Chief, Deputy Resident Editor and Resident Editor, also as Resident Editor in Asianet News and Deccan Chronicle.



T.K.Rajeev Kumar (Artistic Director)

T. K. Rajeev Kumar is a National Award winning Malayalam film director. He was born in Kottayam and currently resides in Thiruvananthapuram. He is also known as a show director, theatre actor and Mridangam percussionist. He was the Chairman of Kerala State Chalachitra Academy and the Director of the International Film Festival of Kerala (IFFK) from 2003 to 2006 and was the vice-chairman of Kerala State Chalachitra Academy.

He was nominated as Jury chairman for Kerala State Film Awards in 2007. He was a member of the Federation of Indian Chambers of Commerce and Industry (FICCI) and the general council of Film and Television Institute in Pune. He is presently the Artistic Director of Blue Mermaid Events in Kochi. He started his Malayalam film career as an Assistant Director with the Navodaya Production Company and associated in the making of India's first 3D film 'My Dear Kuttichathan'. 'Chanakyan' is his directorial debut.

His other noted films include Pavithram, Thacholi Varghese Chekavar, Kannezhuthi Pottum Thottu, Jalamaramaram, Sesham, Ivar, Oru Naal Varum, Rathinirvedam and Thalsamayam Oru Penkutty and Kolambi. He has received numerous honours including National Film Award for the best environmental film, Kerala State Film Awards for best film, Padmarajan Award, Kerala Film Critics Award, Mathrubhumi Film Award, Sanatharam Award and Gulf Malayali Award.